Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Where shall a newbie Kite then?
Page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
Tan

Since 03 Jun 2008
23 Posts
St Kilda, Australia

PostTue Jun 03, 08 5:43 pm    Where shall a newbie Kite then? Reply with quote

Hey everyone

I am a newbie to kiting. I just took lessons in Mexico (lovely warm water) but am now back in sunny Portland. I dont know the gorge area (kiting wise) at all. I am still pretty bad at it. I am barely standing up on the board and you can forget about upwind.

I have been browsing the forum for a while and I noticed the whinging about beginners on the spit in HR. I want to practice. But I want to practice where I am less likely to cause injury to others and also minimise the pain to any pro-locals.

Any suggestions on locations? Very Happy

Inept_Fun

Since 14 Apr 2005
1417 Posts
Hood River
XTreme Poster

PostTue Jun 03, 08 5:51 pm     Reply with quote

The issue is there really isnt somewhere else that you can go where you can touch and feel safe and stuff like the sandbar, not that I know of at least. If you still arent riding the board then you could possibly take some more lessons here (in the gorge) that will take you upwind of all the trouble, and save you a lot of walking upwind time. I would say that you should take another lesson, with New Wind Kiteboarding, they will get you upwind out of the crowd and riding upwind in no time. After that, you will be able to kite wherever and not be an accidental nuisance to other people around.

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
jack

Since 12 Mar 2006
211 Posts

Stoked

PostTue Jun 03, 08 5:55 pm     Reply with quote