Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

teaching kids

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  

PostSat Sep 03, 05 5:36 pm    teaching kids Reply with quote

First post, so a little history. I am an enthusiastic novice with decent kite skills, but did not have enough money to drop on gear this season.

Flew a trainer kite a ton last year (and continued to this year) and in late August I took a couple of lessons in Hood River and was getting short rides by the middle of the second day. Short rides = blissfull few seconds of planing followed by a yard sale crash Shocked , but I was always able to keep the kite flying.

This season, as I've mentioned, I couldn't get gear (life, wife, and kid), but that should change come tax time in 06.

This brings me to the reason for my post - My boy, 11 and 85lbs, has spent about as much time flying the trainer kite as I have and gets the basic ideas. He can keep it on each side of the window and can land/launch using hand signals and control. He has some board expereince from snowboarding, he plays way to much hockey (ice&roller), and has good balance in general. He is very excited at the idea of getting to kiteboard.

I want to get him some solid lessons early in the season next year and am looking for any suggestions on quaility kid teachers in the Oregon/Washington area. We live in Portland, but are willing to travel to make the first LEI adventure a safe and comfortable experience. Are there any camps focused on kids in the area? I would be taking a refresher as well.

As I browse for gear for myself are there any brands/types that I should concentrate on for him if I stumble across them?

Thanks!

cjbpdx

Since 15 Mar 2005
13 Posts