Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

beginner here, got a couple questions!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
kiteboardok

Since 23 Jul 2007
5 Posts
Edmond, Oklahoma
Kook

PostMon Jul 23, 07 6:51 am    beginner here, got a couple questions! Reply with quote

hey all. first off a little background to build the scenario... name is dylan. born and raised in oklahoma (good ole windy plains state). dad windsurfed with 20 years, getting older now... does it alot less now than he used to. i've been water skiing since i was 4, wakeboarding since i was 14 (i am now 24)... done the snowboarding thing a time or two and messed around on a skateboard in my youth.

i am completely fascinated with kiteboarding. i've never done it, but we have a big group of guys (none of which i know) that do it here at hefner lake in oklahoma city, ok. i am extremely ready to get launched into this awesome sport, and am trying to get educated on it as much as possible prior to actually doing it.

i recently purchased a 2004 cabrinha access 12.0 kite (have read and heard on many occasions that this is a great beginner kite). it's brand new, and i'm getting the control bar and lines with it. i understand that now i am going to need a harness and a board. this is where the questions start coming...

what size of a board would you recommend for a beginner (in the sense of kiteboarding, NOT board sports) and a guy of my size (5'9" / 175ish lbs)?

i would like to get a good, used board to make it easier on my wallet of course... if anybody out there has one for sale that you honestly think would be good for my size, please reply to this post with some contact information.