Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Wing Foil boards - Starting out

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
kwalshpc

Since 24 Oct 2014
142 Posts

Stoked

PostWed Jul 20, 22 6:33 am    Wing Foil boards - Starting out Reply with quote

I'd like to get some opinions on boards for a beginner wing foiler. I'm using an inflatable 135L and it seems unstable but I have no experience with anything else. Thanks

TommyK

Since 18 May 2015
47 Posts

PostWed Jul 20, 22 6:46 am     Reply with quote

Don't waste time trying to get back to the beach where you started

Pump the hand wing and point a bit off the wind....
She will stabilize and soon you will get to the next phase where the vessel will feel "stuck" on the water !

Enjoy the journey !

kitebot

Since 20 Feb 2007
251 Posts

Obsessed

PostThu Jul 21, 22 1:01 pm     Reply with quote

A 135L inflatable should be plenty for learning, and if it's not at the moment, it will become so with more time on the water.

mikeinhoodriver

Since 23 Apr 2009
387 Posts
down wind somewhere
Obsessed

PostThu Jul 21, 22 1:07 pm    Re: Wing Foil boards - Starting out Reply with quote

kwalshpc wrote:
I'd like to get some opinions on boards for a beginner wing foiler. I'm using an inflatable 135L and it seems unstable but I have no experience with anything else. Thanks

How much do you weigh?

ldhr

Since 21 Jul 2009
1470 Posts
Hood River
XTreme Poster

PostThu Jul 21, 22 6:52 pm     Reply with quote

If you are 200 pounds or less - 135 L is more than enough.