Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Kite Bar Length

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
MDaleyPete

Since 17 Jun 2015
10 Posts

PostThu Jul 14, 22 1:43 pm    Kite Bar Length Reply with quote

Through a hilarious mix-up I am now in possession of two brand new Naish control bars - one 50cm, one 55cm.

Based on my reading online and the size of kites I typically fly (mostly 6-9M, 12M once or twice/year), I should be using the smaller, 50cm bar. Now that I can compare both new bars to the one I've been using since 2015, it turns out that I've been kiting with a 55cm bar just fine and blissfully unaware.

So polling the audience here, which bar should I keep and which should I return?
Am I splitting hairs here?
Would I even notice a difference?

Timknick

Since 21 Feb 2016
13 Posts

PostFri Jul 15, 22 8:52 am     Reply with quote

7,9,12 . Mostly 9 and 12 and like 50cm bar. Mostly I'm just mowing the grass. I have used both the 43 and 55 in the past for whatever its worth.

Sasquatch

Since 09 Mar 2005
2053 Posts
PNW
Bigfoot

PostFri Jul 15, 22 10:29 am    my 3 cents Reply with quote

bigger the bar, the more leverage you'll have on the kite.

You should at least try the smaller bars on the smaller kites.

I remember like 18 years ago I had a rat's nest with my smaller bar and so I used my 22.5'' bar on my 8m. I was just learning in the ocean and waves. I took a crash in the waves and the extra leverage with the bigger bar made the kite extra responsive and so I crashed the kite in the surf. Then I had no bar left as I had two rat nested bar and lines.