Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Smallest kite for Hood River?
Page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
dobermankby

Since 07 Jul 2021
23 Posts

PostSat Mar 12, 22 6:11 pm    Smallest kite for Hood River? Reply with quote

I am a beginner (10+ sessions so far), getting as much water time as I can, hoping to call myself "intermediate" this spring/summer.
I'm just wondering what everyone's smallest kite for Hood River is. I am planning to be there most of next summer. My smallest kite is an 8m switchblade. Should I get a smaller one? Maybe a 6m? Or should I just sit it out if it's too strong for an 8m? Will I miss some epic sessions without a smaller one? Thanks!

moondog

Since 15 Aug 2007
697 Posts
white salmon
Addicted

CGKA Member

PostSat Mar 12, 22 6:35 pm     Reply with quote

Twin tipping 75% on 9, 15% on 7 , 10% on 12. Foiling 75%on 6, 15% on 8 , 10% on 3

moondog

Since 15 Aug 2007
697 Posts
white salmon
Addicted

CGKA Member

PostSat Mar 12, 22 7:01 pm     Reply with quote

You will definitely need a 6

Singlemalt

Since 21 Jun 2015
460 Posts
White Salmon
Obsessed

PostSat Mar 12, 22 7:18 pm     Reply with quote

Depends on your weight. I’m 205 lb. At your experience level, learning to twin tip and kite in HR, I used my 10 most, 8 for windy, and had a fair number of 12 sessions. It’s more fun if you are well powered.

Also depends on what you want, super powered up jumping? More drifty swell riding?

Second season, on a surfboard, I was more on the 8 and the 6 started seeing some use. Still using the 10 and 12 a fair amount.