Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

How safe is kite foiling?
Page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
markamcclure

Since 20 May 2011
164 Posts
Portland, OR
Stoked

PostTue Sep 07, 21 8:27 am    How safe is kite foiling? Reply with quote

I am just getting started, but I am wondering is those sharp edges will eventually lead to an injury. Has anyone kitefoiled for a while and not been slashed by the foil? How do you keep yourself from getting slashed? YouTube videos seem to suggest falling downwind from the foil and using some lift from the kite to distance yourself. Also they say to put the kite higher and bring the board down to the water when going too fast. Does anyone do this? Suggestions?

Nak

Since 19 May 2005
4198 Posts
Camas
XTreme Poster

CGKA Member

PostTue Sep 07, 21 12:26 pm     Reply with quote

I have never been slashed, but I did tear my rotator cuff getting out of control fast on an advanced foil as a newbie. Learning on a low aspect wing will help prevent that.

To prevent foil bites:

1. When you are in the water approaching the board, pretend you are paralyzed from the waist down. Do not use your legs! If you do, you will eventually kick the foil. Not good. Credit to Joe-The-Kiter for this tip. I'm sure his advice is why I never have gotten a foil bite.

2. Do not hang on to the last moment trying to save a bad situation. Crash while you are still in control so that you can put distance between yourself and the foil. Push the board away from you as you fall. Remember to get some altitude if you're going over the side and the wing is coming up; you don't want to drag your body across the foil.