Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Best location for Thanksgiving
Page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
dobermankby

Since 07 Jul 2021
23 Posts

PostMon Aug 16, 21 9:51 pm    Best location for Thanksgiving Reply with quote

Hello, I'm a beginner, I was first able to stand up on the board two weeks ago during my lesson in Lyle, and I got a few practice sessions in Hood River by myself since then. I caught the bug and now looking to fill all my future holidays with kiteboarding Smile I would like to take a trip during Thanksgiving to a beginner friendly location with guaranteed good wind. My options so far are "Isla Blanca", "SPI", and "La Ventana".
I'm more biased towards Isla Blanca since it's a direct flight from Seattle (so is La Ventana), and it looks and sounds beautiful. Plus there's El Cuyo that I can check out during the same trip. My only concern is I keep hearing suggestions about bringing a "big kite". I hear the season for Yucatan is Nov-May, but I guess it's better after Feb? So I'm not sure how good it'd be during Thanksgiving.
SPI is definitely on my list, I was thinking of checking it out around April, but I can do that this Thanksgiving too, if the wind is as good in November.
La Ventana sounds like better chance to get good wind, but is it a good beginner spot? It seemed a bit wavy in video I watched, hard to tell if it'd be OK for a super beginner like me.
Any other suggestions are also welcome. Thanks!

Pete

Since 29 Oct 2007
829 Posts

Opinionated

PostTue Aug 17, 21 8:13 am    Guaranteed wind Reply with quote

There is no such thing as guaranteed wind. Go whereever you think you would enjoy your time there the best if you don't get wind.

MrGie