Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

new thread, skim kiting help?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
Portland Pete

Since 08 Mar 2005
145 Posts
HR
Stoked

PostTue Jun 12, 07 8:48 am    new thread, skim kiting help? Reply with quote

any kite skimmers out there ?
I am now addicted, less than 10 sessions on skim
and would like to learn how to do more than go back and forth

Forrest gave me good tips on jibing/jumping
see other thread (near bottom)
http://www.nwkite.com/forums/t-4867.html

any other resources out there ?
or what a good progression of tricks would be for beginners.
I watched Tybo this winter in LaVentana and the Shinn Videos online.

I have zero skateboarding background so all the lingo is new to me
Thanks

OK, back to work
Pete

forrest

Since 21 Jun 2005
4329 Posts
Hood River
Hick

CGKA Member

PostTue Jun 12, 07 8:57 am     Reply with quote

I think the first thing you want to learn to do is learn how to move your feet around on the board. I do this by twisting my feet back and forth quickly to reduce friction and slide my feet.

Then I would focus on toeside riding. Next you should focus on turns (heelside to toeside, and toeside to heelside) which I still struggle with.

I have a ton of skateboarding and wakeskating background so the more technical stuff is easier for me but the turns are hard. I should get another wake skate.

gabe

Since 16 May 2005
475 Posts

Obsessed

PostTue Jun 12, 07 3:23 pm     Reply with quote