Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Beginner foilboard buyer's guide

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
pablogcano

Since 13 Aug 2019
3 Posts
Seattle
Kook

PostTue Aug 13, 19 8:54 am    Beginner foilboard buyer's guide Reply with quote

Hi Everyone!

I've been kiting for 8 years now and moved to Seattle a year ago. I decided to join the magic carpet craze and learn how to foil to maximize the amount of days I spend in the water.
I've been doing some research online on what gear to purchase and I am completely overwhelmed by the multiple offers and don't know what gear to purchase. I've been looking at this setup, it looks like the most affordable option for someone on a tight budget.

https://www.mackiteboarding.com/best-deal-in-foilboarding-package/

Should I go for this? Will I outgrow this setup soon? Do you have any recommendations on other gear?

Any input is much appreciated!

ldhr

Since 21 Jul 2009
1470 Posts
Hood River
XTreme Poster

PostTue Aug 13, 19 9:15 am     Reply with quote

That setup is for wakefoiling behind a boat but would be fine for kite.
Not sure about the board as it's designed for wakefoilingbehind a boat - the Alien Air would be best.
Contact the store and see if they will substitute the board for an Alien Air and if they have 24" mast.
You should also advertise on NWkite classifieds - tons of hoverglides and Alien Airs collecting dust in garages as people have upgraded to smaller boards and Ghost Whisperer.
The easiest and fastest way to learn is on a short mast (24" or shorter) and graduate to a 30 inch mast.
The Alien air with the Slingshot Hoverglide NF2 is a good combo.