Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Advice on first kite

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
Spike

Since 13 May 2007
1414 Posts
Alameda
Spelling Expert

PostSun May 13, 07 10:22 am    Advice on first kite Reply with quote

Hey everyone,
I am curently searching for my first kite: a 9 m^2. I live in portland and am looking at a bow or SLE kite. I have visited the shops in hood river. I am debating between the NAISH BOXER SLE, the SLINGSHOT TURBO DIESEL 2, or possibly a GK kite. Im looking for something that is durable considering I'm new to kiteboarding and will most likely end up smashing it into the water a lot, as well as safe. Big jumps are not realy a priority for me... yet. I would greatly appreciate any useful advice,

thanks

Last edited by Spike on Sun May 13, 07 1:06 pm; edited 1 time in total

Mrlaroo

Since 02 Jan 2007
181 Posts
Bend
Stoked

PostSun May 13, 07 12:58 pm     Reply with quote

I am not familar w/ those kites but buy your small kite first.

Kataku2k3

Since 14 Aug 2005
3753 Posts
Los Angeles, CA
Videographer

PostSun May 13, 07 1:59 pm     Reply with quote

You're going to have some problems asking that kinda question on here... These type of posts normally get locked 'cause of all the shit they create (ie. people's bias, etc.). You can ask about it on Kiteforum.com, but it'd be best to just demo the kites and see what you think for yourself...

Wind Slither

Since 04 Mar 2005
2575 Posts
The 503
METAL

PostSun May 13, 07 2:18 pm     Reply with quote

mackalaroo@hotmail.com wrote:
but buy your small kite first.

Yeah, without talking about this brand vs. that brand....