Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Two kites tangle, one man wins.
Page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
MasPedos

Since 05 May 2017
94 Posts
Kihei Hey Hey

PostSat Apr 14, 18 3:33 am    Two kites tangle, one man wins. Reply with quote

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EhIZkdyROFo

I'm an IKO/Pasa kite instructor and I'm here to tell you that every kite situation is different.

This video shows a kitetastrophy with two kites tangling. The guy who deals with the situation is obviously a local kiter with ton's of knowledge and experience. He passes his kite off to the other dude and then get to the kite for a self rescue. He then negotiates with a fisherman to get a boat ride in to shore.

Luckily, very much so, they don't just eject their kites. There are gonna be people who, less experienced, will eject right away. This is not always the answer and if you do eject while the other guy is trying to figure out his/her situation you may cause them some damage.

A kite tangle is the most Heinass issue that two person can have occur. There is no clear cut answer, but this video shows what is possible.

As long as you don't lose your shit you can sort it out.

Keep your kite in control. Don't do anything drastic by sending it up and over and then causing more twists in the tangle that limit your control.

Talk to the other person. Quickly assess who is going to have to do what. In this situation "The Captain" was obviously able to deal and took control. He communicated clearly and and the "Dude Broski" followed his reccomendations.

Great Video.

What are your thougths NWkite Freaks?

wylieflyote

Since 30 Jun 2006
1634 Posts
Puget Sound & Wa. Coast
XTreme Poster