Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Best kites for foiling?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
Sellwood Surfer

Since 17 Oct 2011
11 Posts

PostMon Sep 11, 17 7:59 am    Best kites for foiling? Reply with quote

Hello
I am interested in starting foiling, but I dont want to get a whole quiver of foil specific kites. I have always been a Slingshot fan, and am wondering which of the non Phantom kites would be best? ie Rally v RPM v Wave SST? Any thoughts?
Thanks for your input.

Hazard to Navigation

Since 12 Sep 2016
62 Posts
Hood River

PostMon Sep 11, 17 8:15 am     Reply with quote

I had several recommendations for Wave SST kites for foiling, which I'm just starting to learn. I also enjoy riding the swell in the Gorge and occasional trips to the coast, so I've picked up used 6, 8, and 10m Waves. Happy with them so far.

stringy

Since 23 Jun 2006
1724 Posts
vancouver
XTreme Poster

PostMon Sep 11, 17 9:25 am     Reply with quote

If you have yet to learn hydrofoil, just stick with your current kites for now and see if you move to that discipline full on. most kites will work fine for foiling. I know many kiters that ride the turbines, RPMs, rallys and wave kites for foiling. since you are going to be kiting with less wind than these kites were originally intended, keep that in mind. also consider a kite that can relaunch well in ultra light winds.

Sella

Since 21 Apr 2007
1794 Posts
Doin' The Dalles
FLY'IN HIGH PIE GUY

PostMon Sep 11, 17 10:35 am     Reply with quote