Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Advice for a Women Buying a Harness

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
rascully

Since 17 Dec 2016
2 Posts

PostSat Dec 17, 16 6:45 pm    Advice for a Women Buying a Harness Reply with quote

I have been kiting for 3 years with a $30 harness and it has come time to upgrade. I want a waist harness, but I am concerned about the harness riding up.

I am a female, is there any actual design difference between men's and women's harnesses? Pink is not a design difference and smaller is not useful to me because I am 6". I would like to know if there is a design difference to accommodate for the differences in shapes between men and women ?

Couple other questions:
How do you size a harness ?
What is the feedback on Dakine harness?
What is a good harness for both water and snow kitting?

Thanks in advance!

Wind Slither

Since 04 Mar 2005
2573 Posts
The 503
METAL

PostSun Dec 18, 16 9:10 am     Reply with quote

I'm not an expert but I don't think there is much you can design into a waist harness to keep it from riding up. I find I get less ride up at the end of the summer, when my beer belly finally burns off. I crank the thing as tight as I can before heading out and try to keep the pull of the kite more perpendicular to my body.

How do you size a harness?

A. When you tighten down all the way with no suit on, it should only be 1/2 to 3/4 as tight as the harness can go. The length of bar plays into it too.

A. Maybe the oldest name in harnesses? Can't go wrong.

A. Any water harness will work, but a snow kite specific harness is so nice, especially on skis cause you tend to be more vertical.

Sasquatch

Since 09 Mar 2005
2058 Posts
PNW
Bigfoot