Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

jumping rally vs rpm

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
honda1

Since 11 Sep 2013
183 Posts

Stoked

PostSat Jun 11, 16 7:35 pm    jumping rally vs rpm Reply with quote

I have been kiting for a few years now. I have a quiver of rally kites and primarily use the rally, although I do have a rpm. I think I have become moderately good at jumping the rally. Last week I had a chance to take the rpm out. By the way I really enjoyed how much faster it was compared to the rally. I know I need to switch over to the rpm. But for whatever reason I was not able to jump as well on the rpm. Why? I suppose it has to do with the design of the rpm. Should there be that much difference? Thoughts?

Occupied Columbia

Since 12 Nov 2011
376 Posts
Columbia City
Obsessed

PostSat Jun 11, 16 11:11 pm     Reply with quote

Just my feelings on this. I'm not an instructor.
You initiate your jumps a lot sooner on the rpm. For example if you normally load your rally and sheet in around 11-12 o'clock then on the rpm sheet in around 10-11 o'clock.
You'll land faster and maybe overrun your kite. So, be ready to move the kite back in front of you.

eric

Since 13 Jan 2006
1803 Posts

XTreme Poster

PostSun Jun 12, 16 5:32 am     Reply with quote

The Rally, like a Rebel etc, is more of a "pull in with a little send/whip"", whereas the RPM like a C kite is more "send it with less and later pull in."

sromano1995

Since 22 May 2013
240 Posts
Portland
Stoked

PostSun Jun 12, 16 6:36 am     Reply with quote