Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Envy vs. Razor?

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
Gagead

Since 24 Jun 2015
3 Posts

Kook

PostWed Jun 24, 15 4:41 pm    Envy vs. Razor? Reply with quote

I am new to the sport with a few lessons under my belt and am in the market for my first kite. I have narrowed my search (availability/budget) to a Liquid Force Envy and an Ocean Rodeo Razor (both 8 m2). It seems like the Envy is more beginner oriented, but the Razor has more potential as I progress (?). I would greatly appreciate recommendations or advice.

blancoh2o

Since 15 Mar 2005
1153 Posts
Oregon
Phishy

PostWed Jun 24, 15 7:46 pm     Reply with quote

First off...... There is an unwritten rule on NWKite that there are no brand vs brand threads.

Kite reviews are welcome without bias.

Both kites are great kites. I don't know who told you that the Envy is more of a beginner kite though. Some of the very top pros ride Envys so I wouldn't let that change which one you go with.

For your first kite, I would get something easy to re-launch, somewhat durable, not extra fast and be prepared to upgrade later on. I would look at kites made from 2012 or 2013 for the best pricing if you are getting used.

https://kb4c.rallyup.com/kb4c/286ef9/Member

airon^

Since 07 Aug 2013
289 Posts
Durango
Obsessed

PostWed Jun 24, 15 8:31 pm    8m2? Reply with quote

So just my two cents:

I learned just a couple years ago and started with a 10m RPM. I'm 165 lbs and this was the right choice for size of kite. I actually kited that size more than any other kite even after I got a 12m and then an 8m.