Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Some advice please

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
PHD

Since 18 Jun 2015
5 Posts

Kook

PostThu Jun 18, 15 6:19 pm    Some advice please Reply with quote

Hey! I'm very new to the sport. Already obsessed and I haven't even gotten started. Putting in serious hours with my trainer and looking to take the next step.

I'm about an hour from Lincoln City and Sauvie. Have a lot of options near by. Where would you recommend I go for training?

I'm 6'4", 280 lbs, 40in waist, and my knees are busted up (football) but I'm dedicated. I'm into the look and the reviews of the slingshot kites/bars. What one kite/board/harness would you guys recommend for all around?

mbevo

Since 22 Apr 2015
39 Posts
Portland

PostThu Jun 18, 15 7:47 pm    Re: Some advice please Reply with quote

PHD wrote:
Hey! I'm very new to the sport. Already obsessed and I haven't even gotten started. Putting in serious hours with my trainer and looking to take the next step.

I'm about an hour from Lincoln City and Sauvie. Have a lot of options near by. Where would you recommend I go for training?

I'm 6'4", 280 lbs, 40in waist, and my knees are busted up (football) but I'm dedicated. I'm into the look and the reviews of the slingshot kites/bars. What one kite/board/harness would you guys recommend for all around?

I'd try taking a lesson. I remember flying the crap out of my trainer end of last season but when i got onto a full sized kite it's a lot different. Take a lesson on safety, body dragging, self rescue etc. it'll speed up the learning curve greatly.

I started with 134 and 8m but I'm 140lb so you may want a bigger board and kite than that.

Wind Slither

Since 04 Mar 2005