Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

2 gear questions for a newbie

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
froman

Since 23 Jun 2011
1 Posts
Seattle/Bay Area

PostSat May 02, 15 2:59 am    2 gear questions for a newbie Reply with quote

Two questions here--one on surfboard selection, the other on kite lines.

Surfboard: I'm relatively new to kiteboarding. I can stay upwind, am comfortable toe side and enjoy carving turns based on many years prior in windsurfing.

I'm eager to get into riding a surfboard, as I think I'm more drawn to carving fun turns than getting big air on a twin tip. I don't anticipate that I'll be riding it in big ocean waves any time soon.

Does anyone have a recommendation on the length or type of board I should look at? It seems that there are many different directional styles.

I'm particularly interested in the why behind any board, or why any particular model would be good, since I'll likely be buying used from what I can find here.

I'm 5'8", 150 lbs FWIW.

Additional question on lines: I've got a north 2012 bar that I use with 4 lines. I was wondering why I had such a hard time getting powered up in marginal conditions, and realized that my rear lines are both about 5 inches longer than my front lines, as measured when the bar is fully extended in its depowered state. Is there some really simple adjustment I've missed?

Thanks in advance!

Dern

Since 11 Jul 2010
544 Posts
Vancouver, WA
Addicted

PostSat May 02, 15 5:22 am     Reply with quote