Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

2015 IRS bridle system on RPMs

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
macgruber

Since 06 Dec 2011
490 Posts
SE PDX volcano
Obsessed

PostTue Jan 06, 15 3:20 pm    2015 IRS bridle system on RPMs Reply with quote

Saw the video. Anyone seen it, tried it?

www.slingshotsports.com/2015-RPM

ldhr

Since 21 Jul 2009
1470 Posts
Hood River
XTreme Poster

PostTue Jan 06, 15 4:50 pm     Reply with quote

I've been flying RPMs since 2009.
I demo'd a prototype of the 2015 this past summer.
I kinda sorta noticed the kite was more stable in the gusts.
But what I really noticed was the immediate response and direct feel for the kite.
The RPMs have always had quick and direct response to bar control. But the pulleys are act like a buffer between you and the kite. Like wearing a condom.
With the pulleys removed there's nothing between you and the kite - I experienced more feel and control of the kite. Pull on the bar and the kite moves - no hesitation, no lag time.
It's a nice upgrade to a kite that was already high up on the evolutionary ladder.

dcfordo

Since 19 May 2011
60 Posts
The Dalles

PostTue Jan 06, 15 8:08 pm     Reply with quote

Ha ha.

Rip off that condom!

bwd

Since 04 Aug 2007
385 Posts

Obsessed

PostFri Jan 09, 15 10:01 am     Reply with quote

Interesting for sure. I remember a year or three back a guy posted on kf a no pulley rpm setup he had worked out. But no bungees, just normal fixed lines....
Love to try one when they make it to my area...

Lurk

Since 04 Apr 2009
355 Posts

Obsessed

PostSat Jan 10, 15 10:25 am     Reply with quote

Hope someone comes on here has tested it.