Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Wings 101

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
tree

Since 29 May 2007
147 Posts
Bend, OR
Stoked

PostWed Mar 09, 22 1:54 pm    Wings 101 Reply with quote

I'm going to take the wing foiling plunge this year. How much difference is there from one wing to the next? Any clear favorites (or losers to avoid)?

user124

Since 02 Aug 2012
390 Posts
Portland
Obsessed

PostWed Mar 09, 22 3:23 pm    Wings Reply with quote

I assume you are asking about hand wings, not foils.

I'm no expert but I think the manufacturers are still figuring it out. Eventually I suspect like kites, wings will diverge into designs for specific purposes. Some better for jumping (more upward lift), some better for up wind (maybe thinner leading edge) and some better for flagging out while riding swell/surf (lighter weight, balanced for flagging).

Lot's of Slingshot slingwing, F-One, Naish, Cabrinha, Ozone, etc on the water last year. I think any of the new gen designs from these is adequate for learning. Then once you know how you want to ride you can start to choose wings that fit your needs.

tree

Since 29 May 2007
147 Posts
Bend, OR
Stoked

PostWed Mar 09, 22 5:04 pm     Reply with quote

User - yes, I'm asking about the wings. With foils and boards, I think there's enough overlap with kite foiling that I can more or less know what I want. But the wings are totally new for me.

juandesooka

Since 21 Jan 2014
96 Posts

PostWed Mar 09, 22 5:33 pm     Reply with quote