Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

OR Mako Q/Advice

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
IWantToFly

Since 29 Jul 2019
144 Posts

Stoked

PostWed Jul 31, 19 11:24 am    OR Mako Q/Advice Reply with quote

I am a beginner with a Litewave Wing 155. I’m usually between 160 and 165 lbs.. I enjoy the Wing. It’s been a great board to learn and I know I haven’t begun to tap into its potential. One of the guys who taught me is a dealer and he rips - regularly launching his Wing 50’+. At the same time, I enjoy trying out new things and having fun learning with different gear along the way.

I’m riding now in the Gorge or down at Floras Lake. Hopefully I’ll have the chance to start mixing in some other destinations soon. I’ve ridden 25kts. with 3’-4’ swells at Roosevelt and enjoyed the Wing, but it would have been fun to have something more surfy.

When I was first learning I saw a guy carving flatwater downwind on a Mako like he was snowboarding. It looked like a ton of fun. I’ve read reviews of the Mako and obviously people love it. I have the chance to pick up a 165 for cheap ($150). I believe it is a 2011 and it’s in great shape.

At my size and experience is there any point in the 165? If I had the choice I’d probably go for the 150, but it’s a really good deal! What do you think?

Sasquatch

Since 09 Mar 2005
2053 Posts
PNW
Bigfoot

PostWed Jul 31, 19 11:37 am    too big Reply with quote

Too big for you IMHO for your size.

Or buy it and try it out and if you don't like it sell it to this guy.

http://www.nwkite.com/forums/t-46596.html

Dern

Since 11 Jul 2010
544 Posts
Vancouver, WA
Addicted

PostWed Jul 31, 19 12:08 pm     Reply with quote