Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

slingwing and wingsurfer

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
tinyE

Since 21 Jan 2006
2004 Posts
not really an
XTreme Poster

PostTue Aug 27, 19 3:47 pm    slingwing and wingsurfer Reply with quote

i did a search, no info on them at all.

is this a real thing? could you use this thing in the surf at all? or think it would destroy you? (this is a serious post). i like the idea of just hopping on and rolling around in low wind.

i couldn't really find a wind range.

so, whoever has tried it. they are both basically 4m.
what is the wind range on a foil? does it need to be nor-easter to get you out of the water? (i've no experience on a windsurf board, but i know their sails aren't any bigger)

thx!

Pepi

Since 16 Jun 2006
1831 Posts
Pure Stoke Sports
Shop Owner

CGKA Member

PostTue Aug 27, 19 5:30 pm     Reply with quote

During the recent industry tradeshow I used the Ozone Wasp (4m) on a 144liter Fanatic SUP Foil with a 2000+ Wing (super big).
It took winds gusting into the 20's for me to get up foiling with the wing. If I had some more practice I could probably get going in a bit lighter wind. Same with using a smaller board (but I would'nt go much lower than 110liters for my size, I'm thinking).

Using in the Oregon coast surf?.... from my little experience, I cannot imagine this working that well.
For downwinders in the Gorge as a way to not have to use a paddle on your SUP Foil rig (NOT KITEFOIL), most definitely a positive plus item to have.

For those of you thinking you would or could use the wing with your kitefoil, this is not likely a possibility unless you are Kai Lenny.